Valuing ourselves, and recognising our WORTH. YOU ARE GOOD ENOUGH!

I haven’t posted for a while, partly because life I got busy, my health hasn’t been that good. I’m also beating myself up that although I am still very much sugar free, there are occasions when I do have something with sugar in. I haven’t been doing as much to promote wellbeing on here or on fb page as I once did.

When I started this off a few years ago, my health was better, and I wasn’t working. I’ve had a turbulant few years, and life has been touch. I’ve been sugar free for 6 years now, and it’s become a routine. So I guess if I am honest, I have lost some of my energy and enthusiasm for a bit. I know it’s still there because I still passionately believe that going sugar free can really improve our physical and emotional wellbeing.

I was telling someone yesterday about my sugar free journey, and they were amazed by it, and told me I was an inspiration! Yet, I don’t see myself that way. At the moment, I’m tired, warn out, and potentially recovering from a milder dose of Covid!

What my conversation did yesterday was highlight to me several things. Firstly we don’t always recognise our achievements and all the good things we have done. How many of us congratulate ourselves when we have achieved something? I’m getting a sense, that’s not many of us?! Now how many of us beat ourselves up for what we havent done?! I’m guessing a few more of us do this. I will wave my hands in the air, and say that’s me!

From my own issues with food, I know that my self worth and eating used to go hand in hand. I would go to slimming group and gain half a pound, beat myself up, and feel worthless. I would go the following week, lose half a pound, and feel AMAZING! My self worth revolved around size, food, and body image, along with comparisons to others.

Then if I felt worthless, I would eat my feelings in SUGAR. It became a repeating pattern, that I couldn’t get out of for a long time. I am pleased to say now, my eating patterns are different, my perception of myself is different, and on the whole now my self worth, is no longer dependent on eating the way I did. However, I like, I think many struggle with self worth that nagging feeling of are you good enough? What will people think of you? I am sure you get my drift. Life is hard at times, but the thing that can be hardest of all is the words we use, or negative perception we have of ourselves.

Change is hard, but in order to reshape our lives, and feel better about ourselves, sometimes we need to change those thought patterns, and long held beliefs. Break the cycle, and get of the roundabout. Since moving up to Cumbria 4 years ago, my social life has been non existent due to work, Covid, and my health, I havent got to know anyone. I’ve really struggled with loneliness, and isolation. I know I have to do something, as I have been stuck in a rut. I spotted a church coffee afternoon advertised next Wednesday round the corner from me, whilst it’s not something I would normally go along too, and I feel really nervous about going. I know in order to create change, I need to give it a go, even if I never go again!

In a sense in order to start making those changes in our life, we have to value that we are worth making those changes for. So what I want to say today is; YOU ARE WORTH IT, YOU ARE WORTH MAKING THOSE POSITIVE CHANGES IN YOUR LIFE THAT MAKE LIFE BETTER FOR YOU, YOU ARE WORTH SOME LOVE AND KINDNESS.

Until next time, take care of yourselves.

With love,

Tracy xxxx

Leave a comment